We use our own and third-party cookies to perform an analysis of use and measurement of our website, to improve our services, as well as to facilitate personalized advertising by analysing your browsing habits and preferences. You can change the settings of cookies or get more information, see cookies policy. I understand and accept the use of cookies.

Institutional responses to the changing European security order (inRESPONSE)

From September 1, 2023 to August 31, 2026
Funding programme: Proyectos I+D Generación del conocimiento

Grant numberPID2022-140133NB-I00

The Russian military invasion into Ukraine in 2022 marked a clear before and after in European security order. The invasion did not only entail that large-scale, inter-state armed conflict has once again returned to the European continent, with its attendant devastating societal impact on Ukraine and on Europe at large. It also constitutes an unravelling of the carefully crafted European security architecture, which had generally been seen until that moment as one of the world’s most successful and had been credited for Europe’s long peace after World War II. Institutional responses to the changing European security order (inRESPONSE) is a research project that investigates the conditions under which war breaks out, as well as the mechanisms which institutions use to restore peace, stability and order. inRESPONSE will pursue state-of-the-art research to map out and examine the very micro-foundations of dysfunctionality of Europe’s security architecture. We will produce a theoretical model to advance analysis on how political pressures inside institutions (EU, NATO and OSCE), and across institutions, result in a breakdown of the security upheld by overlapping and networked security organizations. inRESPONSE will also determine how institutions (EU and NATO) can rebuild and/or re-tool the security order after breakdown, by examining the institutional responses (policies and practices) designed to restore post-2022 European security.

Team Members

External Contributors

  • Yevgeniy Kondratov (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
  • Fatimah Saadi (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
  • Federica Zardo (Donau University Krems)
  • Ana Juncos (University of Bristol)
  • Hanna Ojanen (University of Tampere)
  • Francesca Leso (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) 
  • Henrique Monteiro (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)

Funding institutions

Elisabeth Johansson-Nogués
Elisabeth Johansson-Nogués
Contact person
Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación logo