Our website uses its own and third parties cookies for a high level of user-friendliness. If you continue to browse and  use this website we will assume that you agree with the policies.

Governing bodies

Pursuant to the Foundation’s Statutes, the Scientific Council is responsible for all academic matters pertaining to IBEI’s activity, including its detailed teaching programme, the necessary regulations or the launching of new programmes. This is why only the patron universities are represented in the Scientific Council. 

The members of the Scientific Council are: 


Jacint Jordana,
Director of the IBEI                                          


Pere Vilanova,
Universitat de Barcelona 

Laura Chaqués Bonafont,
Universitat de Barcelona, Research Associate at IBEI 

Caterina Garcia,
Universitat Pompeu Fabra 

Juan Jesús Pérez,
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya    

Ana Sofia Cardenal,
Universitat Oberta de Catalunya 

Robert Kissack,
Head of Studies, IBEI 

Juan Díez Medrano,
Research Programme Coordinator, IBEI
Professor, Universidad Carlos III Madrid

Esther Barbé,
Research Programme Coordinator, IBEI
Professor, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

Nico Krisch
ICREA Research Professor, IBEI (on leave)
Professor, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies
Research Programme Coordinator, IBEI 

Martin Shaw
Research Professor, IBEI