We use our own and third-party cookies to perform an analysis of use and measurement of our website, to improve our services, as well as to facilitate personalized advertising by analysing your browsing habits and preferences. You can change the settings of cookies or get more information, see cookies policy. I understand and accept the use of cookies.

Governing bodies

IBEI's Statutes provide for the possibility of creating an advisory council if required. In 2005, the Board of Patrons considered it useful to create this Council, made up of leading international scholars, and convene a yearly meeting in order to have them assess IBEI's activities and advise on the Institute's present and future activities, regardless of the members' involvement in IBEI activities above and beyond Council meetings.

The members of the International Academic Council are: 


Javier Solana,

President, ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics (ESADEgeo)


Prof. Mary Kaldor,

Professor of Global Governance and Director of the Conflict and Civil Society Research Unit, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Prof. Stathis Kalyvas,

Gladstone Professor of Government at the Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Oxford

Prof. Nico Krisch,

Professor of international law and co-director of the Global Governance Centre, The Geneva Graduate Institute (IHEID)

Prof. José Antonio Ocampo,

Professor of Professional Practice in International and Public Affairs at the School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA), Columbia University

Prof. Karen Elisabeth Smith,

Professor of International Relations and Head of the Department of International Relations, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Prof. Michael Zürn,

Director of the research unit "Global Governance" at the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB) and Professor of International Relations, Freie University Berlin