We use our own and third-party cookies to perform an analysis of use and measurement of our website, to improve our services, as well as to facilitate personalized advertising by analysing your browsing habits and preferences. You can change the settings of cookies or get more information, see cookies policy. I understand and accept the use of cookies.

16 · JANUARY · 2023

IBEI student Christina Zacharaki awarded the First Prize of the IEMed’s Best Master's Dissertation Awards

For the first time, an IBEI student has been awarded the First Prize of the Best Master's Dissertation Awards in the framework of IEMed’s Interuniversity Program Aula Mediterrània. 

The student Christina Georgia Zacharaki has been awarded for her project "The securitarization of migration in Greece: mapping the evolution of securitizing discourses between 1991-2021" in the framework of the IBEI Master's in International Security

The dissertation maps how migration was constructed as a security threat in Greece between 1991-2021, as the country faced two ‘waves’; in the 1990s and 2010s. The results of this analysis allow for a more comprehensive understanding of the Greek case, which is valuable in light of unabating migration flows and trends of right-wing populism in Greece and beyond.

The Awards are part of the Aula Mediterrània interuniversity programme, which includes an annual series of conferences and an international seminar, and which the IEMed has been co-organizing since the 2014-2015 academic year with different master's degrees from Catalan universities that are dedicated to the study of different disciplines of the Mediterranean environment. Fostering interdisciplinarity and research on the Mediterranean region are the most outstanding objectives of the programme. The awards for the best Master's Thesis wants to promote specialization in the Mediterranean region and to give support and visibility to young researchers who choose to dedicate their thesis to it.

From IBEI we would like to congratulate the author for obtaining this award.

Congratulations, Christina!

Check the winner of the previous editions